Kiersey Cup 2023

To everyone who entered, played, supported, baked, bought raffle tickets, umpired we are beyond thankful to you all for contributing to our competition.

This year we decided to honour our two club members who were taken from us all too soon. We held the inaugural Melissa Keith Memorial Cup and the Hella Weber-Doyle Memorial Cup for our Second and Third Sections. Both women loved badminton and were the best team members we could have wished for at Kilmac and they are so dearly missed. We would like to thank both families for coming to present trophies especially Tom, Aoibhinn, Cian and Dan. It was an honour and a privilege for us to pay tribute to both Hella and Melissa.

Lastly, we want to extend a huge thanks to the Kiersey family who have given our club unwavering support for many years! Jim and Marie, we sincerely thank you both for everything

All of the games this weekend were just brilliant, the standard was so high. Everyone that played put on a masterclass of badminton and we want to say a huge congratulations to all of our worthy winners and finalists!!

So that’s it for another year folks, we hope you all enjoyed the weekend just as much as we did and we will see you all next year, same place, same month and same sport

The Melissa Keith Memorial Cup winners – Samuel Keating and Naoise Murtagh.

Runners up- Oisin Hannigan and Zoe Scanlon.

Plate winners – Dave Hayes and Helen O Donnell.

Runners up- Alan Cantwell and Josephine Keating.

The Hella Weber – Doyle Memorial Cup winners – Keelan Hannigan and Naoise Murtagh.

Runners up – Ryan O Rourke and Fiona Kiely

Plate winners – John Corr and Katie Delahunty.

Runners up – Martin Walsh and Edel Firth

The Kiersey Cup Winners – Eoin and Ciara Walsh.

Runners up- John O Brien and Stephanie Pierce.

Plate winners – Garvan Dunford and Lorraine Dooley.

Runners up- Eddie Cahill and Phoebe Bowdren